The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Look at Me!

Something different in our Oxfam shop window today. Because I stopped to look and photograph, some other women stopped too. See the explanation for these imaginatively upcycled items in Extras, below.

Four and a half hours with the three boys today! We made mud pie (chocolate biscuit cake), did playdough hairstyles and then froze the playdough (their idea), made obstacle courses, made giant beds on the floor, played bucking bronco ( I was the bronco sometimes), watched tv ...I was  quite relieved when their Dad walked in half an hour early! We couldn't have gone out far because the storm Franklin was blowing a fair bit, and they'd been walking around town in the morning already. I'm beginning to realise that half term is a very expensive time for parents who are time-poor.

Got home at 5 30 and it was still daylight. Hurrah. I'm relieved that a  family property problem I'd begun to think of as insoluble has started to look easier with a teamwork approach. If I hadn't gone to a beautiful concert in Nailsworth yesterday afternoon (Mozart's clarinet quintet, played by the Bristol Ensemble) it would not have occurred to me to reframe the perceived problem in a different way. Mental space is much underrated. The inside of my mind must look like a very disorganised lost property office. I've signed up for an online Mindfulness session...

I seem to have fallen off my blip perch of late. I hope to become more regular once the storm season has passed. Or something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.