The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Avenida de los Muertes

... or Street of the Dead, as we might say in English! A few weeks ago I saw the most amazing documentary about Monarch butterflies, and how when they arrive in Michoacan, Mexico, around the time of the Day of the Dead, their arrival is celebrated. They are believed to be the souls of the dead, returning for a family visit. Whole families will picnic and hold parties in the cemetery, talking freely to the souls of their departed ones. I think I have mentioned this before, but it is still with me. My father (and TML's) lives in Mexico, as far as we know, but he may be dead by now. We don't know for sure. His last address was in Michoacan province. Perhaps if I see a Monarch butterfly in Stroud, it will be a Sign. That nature is going terribly wrong?

We lived next to a cemetery somewhat like this, but not as large, and much more rural, when I was a teenager in the 70s in Argyll. It was certainly one of the places we played in, and I visit my granny's and my aunt's grave every time I am 'home' by Loch Etiveside. So, this is a very strange kind of street blip, which allows me to experiment with my new app, Distressed FX. To be honest, I am not sure if I like it. If I'd had to print out a photo and distress it myself using distress inks and water and little bits of cut up felt and foam, I'd like it a whole lot more!

Digital photography course starts tonight. "Pray for me" is the phrase that springs to mind. My technical knowledge is zero. So, things can only get better...

Talking of "pray for me" I was surprised to hear yesterday that two of our students had been to "Lord's" over the holidays. My reaction was, "I did not know they were interested in cricket!" (Lord's in London being one of the most famous cricket grounds in the world).
Last night, when reading the school newsletter, the penny dropped. They had actually been to Lourdes in France, with the Handicapped Pilgrims' Trust! I think it's about time that this charity changed its name to reflect current attitudes. How about "Pilgrims' Trust" or "Disabled Pilgrims' Trust"?

Poems for today's poetry challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.