flowerdancer

By flowerdancer

History in a Box

A simple cardboard box which provides a snapshot of a time long past!
This box dates from 1971 when we moved from West Sussex to Scotland as a family. We lived near Chichester and I remember as a young child going to David Greig’s supermarket regularly with my Dad who did all the shopping. Friday night was Sainsburys and Saturday morning David Grieg and all the other small independent shops and the Library. Happy days.
The box contained until yesterday my Costume dolls which Dad brought back for me from Denmark, Germany and France in 1967 - I have rehoused them in my display cabinet and only studied the box once I emptied it.
David Greig the Supermarket chain started in 1870 in Hornsey with one small shop and by the late 1960’s, there were 220 shops across the South of England. It was a rival to Sainsburys. If you are interested to read more, look up David Greig suoermarket on Wikipedia.
When I studied the box some more, it has the number 10 and “do not squeeze” in my late Mum’s handwriting on the lid flaps. This was 10 of 44 boxes of our worldly goods she carefully packed, indexed and listed before our move in May 1971 so she knew at the other end exactly what each box contained.
It is only a box but it contains so many memories and associations, I am reluctant to discard it now - I have photographed it and shared here though so maybe that is enough and it can go or maybe I can find something else for it to hold just now?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.