If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Magnolia × soulangeana bud

Another sign of spring.  In autumn 2014 we planted this Magnolia to replace a Malus (Crab Apple) which had blown down.  The following spring it had a single flower bud which I blipped.  Since then it has had one or two, I think three maximum, flowers each year since then.

Yesterday I was having a look at it and it is covered in flower buds!  I know they don't like root disturbance and it was quite a large plant in a small pot.  However I was expecting it to establish faster than it has, .  Now it looks as if it has stopped sulking and will hopefully increase in size.

Sometimes called Chinese Magnolia or Saucer magnolia it is as the X in the names suggests a hybrid between two magnolia species M denudata and M liliiflora.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.