Fried Haddock Sandwich and Onion Rings - NOM!

And now, for another stop in the grand eating tour of central Pennsylvania!

My mother-in-law had some things she needed help with, and so we made plans to visit her at Homewood at Martinsburg. She said she needed something to be worked out with Walmart regarding the cell phone she has, something about the upcoming network upgrade, but when we called the local Walmart, they were out of stock of Tracfones and nothing could be done at this time.

She also needed to have gas put in her car. Where she used to live, she got gas at a full-service place, where a gentleman there would pump it for her. Well, now, at the age of 80+, she needs to learn to pump gas herself, as there is no local full-service station.

The last time we were there, my husband took her to the closest Exxon and demonstrated for her what to do. On this occasion, she wanted to go there and pump the gas herself, under my husband's watchful eye, and so we did that. I gave a hoot of encouragement for her when she got back in the car, pleased with her own little success!

And then we went to Traditions at Martinsburg for a nice, late lunch. My husband and I ordered the batter-dipped fried haddock sandwich. I had monster onion rings with mine; my husband had fries. My mother-in-law had a big burger and onion rings.

Near the end of the meal, I got out my containers to take some of those big bad boys with me (the onion rings), and my mother-in-law offered me the rest of hers, as well. As she lifted her plate and started to slide them into my container (yes, I take my own containers to restaurants), FLOOP! went one of the smaller onion rings, and it landed in her glass of water!

Well, you'd have thought somebody had told the funniest joke in the world. My mother-in-law and I just hooted and howled over that errant, lively onion ring. Ha ha ha!!! she laughed, as she reached down into her water glass, lassoed that onion ring (apparently, this was NOT her first onion ring rodeo), and lobbed it right back into her mouth, crunched it up, and swallowed it right down. HA!!! So much for the attempted escapee; you've been EATEN, how do you like THAT?

They offered us dessert before we left, but we were all stuffed, and declined. And I have refused dessert there each of the times we've been there. But let me tell you what: NEXT time, I'm having a slice of that carrot cake, either for there, or more likely, to go. You may check out the tantalizing dessert selections in the photo in the extras. NOM, and I say again: NOM!!!

My soundtrack song is this one: Eric Carmen, with Hungry Eyes, from the Dirty Dancing soundtrack. Video features scenes from the film.

Link: the menu at Traditions at Martinsburg.

P.S. I highly recommend you take some of the bread along home. It is homemade, freshly made each day, and it is just delightful. We had one slice left on our table that I took along home and my husband and I ate  it, toasted and buttered, in the kitchen later that night. Famous last words from my husband, with a sigh: "That was almost slightly heavenly." (So no, don't forget the bread!) Also this: a thing that is underrated in this world is the simple pleasure of eating hot, crispy, buttered toast with someone you love in the kitchen late at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.