The Purple Feather, a Mardi Gras Adventure

It was the morning of Mardi Gras, and I had a fun idea: I would take my favorite purple Mardi Gras mask along on my walk, and snap silly pictures of myself around the neighborhood in it for a festive holiday Blip. The mask is covered in glitter, sparkly things, and three large purple feathers.

So I put on my jacket and vest and stuffed my purple mask into my vest pocket. It didn't want to fit but I MADE it fit. Grabbed my tunes box. Slipped out the front door. Did my walk, stopped a few places, took silly selfies wearing the mask.

When I got to a local park and sat down to take the next photo set, I suddenly LOOKED at the mask and realized it was missing a purple feather! Hmm! Clearly I'd dropped it somewhere on my walk. So I retraced my steps: Nothing. Nope, no feather! What, had somebody already found it and purloined it? Or might I have lost the feather during a separate secret silly adventure earlier that morning with the mask?

I walked home, walked in the front door. Had my husband found a purple feather? Nope! Nothing. I took off my vest and jacket, and something fluttered out. Tiny Tiger shouted: WHAT WAS THAT!??? And there, on the floor, somehow tucked inside my jacket all that time, was the missing purple feather.

So I took the feather and used Crazy Glue to glue my feather back on my favorite mask. But first, I did a little photo shoot with Tiny Tiger and the feather and the mask. In this scene, T. Tiger is dressed up in a fancy beaded outfit for the occasion, and he is wearing the missing purple feather! Hooray! All's well that ends well!

Epilogue. . . . My husband was speaking on the phone with my mother-in-law later in the day, and I overheard him telling her a real whopper of a tale about me: "My wife ran through the house naked this morning, dancing around, wearing nothing but a purple Mardi Gras mask!" I heard him say. What a tattler!

Well, that's a bald-faced lie, and let me be the first to set the record straight: I was NOT naked. I was wearing a purple mask (this one, to be precise, BEFORE it lost its feather) AND several sets of beads! And yes, at the time, I HAD, in fact, billed it as the First Annual Mardi Gras Streak.

Boogity Boogity!
There she goes!
Boogity Boogity!
And she ain't wearing no clothes!

My soundtrack song for this silly purple Mardi Gras misadventure is Ray Stevens, with The Streak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.