Carolina Wren Takes Shelter from the Storm

It has been a crazy week or two for February weather. Typically, we encounter very cold temperatures and extreme levels of snow this time of year. That has not been the case so far. We've had weather whose temperatures dipped, followed by mild springlike days. There is no snow pack.

On this day, a winter storm moved through. When I got up in the morning, I made a hasty walk before conditions worsened. We had sleet, then a break. I walked. My husband took his bike and met me at my favorite pond. There was no ice on it, it was completely melted, and it was open for fine reflections.

Shortly after I got back to our house, the precipitation was ready to begin in earnest. It snowed a little. Then it snowed a lot. Then it added sleet to the mix, and I could hear it, loud, against the house. I took my camera onto the front porch for a few pictures and it was so loud I couldn't think!

And as I stood there, on our front porch, I saw a little bird at the feeder. There are several bird hospitality stations my husband maintains, especially in challenging weather. One of them hangs from the corner of the house, under the eaves. It's a little bit protected there, and they can still feed, even if it is precipitating. (He also feeds the bunnies, but that's another tale.)

As I watched, a tiny bird, a Carolina wren, came to eat at the feeder. It would look around, hop into the feeder, bob its head up to check if anybody was around, and then eat to its heart's content. Then it would hop to the edge of the feeder, look around some more, and hop back in for further snackage.

Carolina wrens are one of my personal favorites. They look like flying teddy bears. This particular Carolina wren hopped in and out of the feeder probably 15 times while I stood, snapping photos. (And the look on the bird's face as it surveyed the weather was clearly one of disdain: That's Some Serious Bullsh*t out there!)

So here is a photo of the Carolina wren, taking shelter from the storm. I submit this photo with a big Thank You to my husband, who is one of the Good Guys, and the one I most enjoy being snowed in with. He looks after the birds and bunnies, and our home, and he looks after me. I crave his look, his love, his touch. He is my shelter from any storm.

My soundtrack song is this one: Bob Dylan, with Shelter from the Storm.

Suddenly I turned around and she was standin' there
With silver bracelets on her wrists and flowers in her hair
She walked up to me so gracefully and took my crown of thorns
Come in, she said
I'll give ya shelter from the storm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.