Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Surprise! It's Snowing!

(back blip #2)

I woke up to rain, which itself surprised me. As I stood and watched it out of the picture window, it turned into pellets. Before I knew it, the flakes became huge and were really coming down. I waited a little while before going outside. The clothes I brought with me weren't for any wet weather. None was forecast! Throwing caution to the wind, I drove over to the wildlife viewing area. (I didn't have my hiking boots and didn't want to slip and fall)

On the left are a male Hepatic tanager and a Rivoli's hummingbird. On the right is proof of how hard it was snowing. Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know most people see this kind of snow during the winter. But, wow, is it exciting for me to see here in southern Arizona, especially when it wasn't forecast!

So this day was spent going out and getting soaked through, going inside for my clothes to dry off, then repeating that drill throughout the day.  It was really fun.

I just got off the phone with a friend living near the Canadian Border. He said that since early this morning the snow has been coming down, it is nearly waist high and is still falling. The temperature is dropping way below zero and the north wind is increasing to near gale force. His wife has done nothing but look through the kitchen window and just stare. He says that if it gets much worse, he may have to let her in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.