STAVELEY

I had a pleasant couple of hours today.  Hubby went over to visit Mum as he had an plate rack to put and take down what was there before.  So I decided I would go out whilst it was still dry.

I've been meaning to visit Staveley  for a little while so thought it was nice and close and I would go there.

I managed to park up near The Hawkshead Brewery.  There is a short riverside walk from behind there, so I decided I would investigate it.  I found another walk which went uphill and I believe takes in 3 tarns, but is probably a bit too far for me, certainly for the weather as it was today.

I only meant 3 ladies going up on that walk and one man and his dog.  I then had a wonder around the village.  It used to be a mining village, and for such a small place I found 3 different coffee shops.  It is also home to The Hawkshead Brewery and has an artisan Bakery..  

Staveley itself is quite pleasant, but I think I would like to visit nearby Kentmere another time, so that's another to add to my list.  

I've also discovered that there was quite a chunk of Staveley I didn't see, so I will visit again.  The main river is the River Kent but there is also a another small river, The River Gowan which also goes through the village of Ings (another place on my list of places to visit);

Staveley has an interesting church tower, St Margaret's Tower.   Staveley also has a small railway station, a request stop for the Lakes Line, Kendal to Windermere.  

I do like to learn a little about the history of places I visit 

I plumped for Wilf's as I've heard of that one.   It was very nice, well spaced out and a pleasant lady at the counter.  I just had a coffee and Banana Loaf and it was lovely

I then decided to go for a drive in the area to think of other places to visit and have a walk around.

After leaving Staveley I headed towards Kendal but turned off on the B5284 Crook Road, past Plumgarths (another good coffee stop, but I obviously didn't today) and headed towards Blackwells, Art & Crafts House but decided not to stop as I didn't need anything to eat or drink.  I then drove on through the Lyth Valley and came down past Gummer's How, to Newby Bridge and then headed on the A590 home.  

All in all a pleasant morning on a grey day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.