Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Water Rail #30

A second lovely day that turned cold and very windy after lunch, but my visit to RSPB Titchwell was very successful. 
Six new birds for my list including a brief sighting of a couple of bearded tits which was nice. This water rail was quite happy paddling around in the reedbed and occasionally popped out into the open allowing me this shot. Eventually it flew away - I don't think I've ever seen a water rail fly before, so that was a bit of a surprise. 
The flocks of lapwing and golden plover were huge and every now and then they would all take flight when a marsh harrier got too close which is a wonderful spectacle(extra). 

This evening the six of us went to the local pub for Quiz Night and were quite surprised to take away the top prize of £26 for getting 22/25. It will get us a round of drinks tomorrow evening when we go out for our group meal if we're lucky. 

I won't be commenting tonight as it's far too late, but as the weather is set to be awful tomorrow morning I might be able to catch up then if I don't get roped into a game. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.