Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Wren #29

It's been a good day today. I made an early start and was at Lynford Arboretum at around 8.30am ready to see my first hawfinches :) 
They were quite tricky to spot and even harder to photograph but at least I saw some in the usual area of the paddock. There were about 5 I think, but they were definitely hawfinches even if I didn't get a useable image. I will see if I have time to go back later in the week maybe...
Another tick for the day was a single Marsh Tit in a ditch so I was quite happy with my morning. My favourite shot of the day was this little wren who popped up in front of me as I walked around by the lake. 
As it got to lunchtime I went back to the car and as I sat and punched in the post code on the Satnav, the heavens opened and it chucked it down. Needless to say, after a really sunny morning, I was a bit surprised so went home for some lunch. 
I saw my first butterfly of the season - a red admiral basking in the sunshine on the forest floor. On the way home I also saw some red kites, buzzards, a deer galloping in a field and a huge amount of pigs. I didn't know this was a prime pork area, but I guess it must be :)
After lunch I was intending to go to Horsey Gap to see the seals, but by the time I'd finished chatting with A it was 3pm and too late to go anywhere really. I plan to take her later in the week if the weather stays dry. However, I did see two distant hares from our apartment on the currently unused golf course so I'll be looking out for them later in the week with a view to trying to photograph them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.