FLOWER FRIDAY - CROCUS ROSEBUD

I was up quite early this morning and had my shower, but afterwards I didn't feel like getting dressed, so after two cups of coffee, just pottered around in my pink robe.  I could see that Mr. HCB's mother's little snowdrops were blooming well, so decided to go out into the garden to take a few shots - and boy, was it cold - I did think, when the wind was whipping round, that perhaps I should have got dressed!

Anyway, I took a few photographs so then had a little wander around the garden.  I could see that there is lots of pruning needed on our various clematis plants and also on various roses in the main flower bed and in some of our other flower beds and I hope the wind dies down soon so that I can get out and do it.

I spotted this small bud on our David Austin "Crocus Rose" and thought that it deserved its 15 minutes of fame on Blip, especially on Flower Friday.  Yes, it's growth has been stunted, but that is hardly surprising given the weather we have had recently.  Of course, I could just have snapped it off, but then I started thinking about how we discard things, and even people, when they are not that pleasing to us either in looks or in what they say or do.

Sometimes people are stunted in their growth because of what has happened to them in their lives or perhaps because of some genetic disorder or disease - should we just discard or ignore them?  I don’t believe we should, as we can learn so much from people and flowers like this one;  there is still much beauty in brokenness or even that which is not always pleasing to our eyes or ears.

Let's look around for those people who, through no fault of their own, are different and speak words of love and encouragement to them.

Enjoy my Crocus Rosebud, which I think is still beautiful.

Stunted in its growth -
Does it deserve to be killed?
No, it’s still alive.

© Maureen Iles 25/2/22

P.S.  Just in case I don't blip them again, I have put a shot of Joan's beautiful little snowdrops in as an extra.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.