A day in the life

By Shelling

Bring in spring

A tradition in my home since I was young was to cut some branches, often from a birch-tree, where the buds are just about visible and then put them in fresh water and bring them indoors in a vase. After a day or two, the leaves start appearing in the warmth and the light of the room. 
This might be a little bit early yet, I brought the twigs in because I have guests on Sunday and want to try my luck. The arrangement is usually called "Påsk-ris", easter-twigs, and are normally brought in a bit later, sometime in March. Around easter, the twigs are usually decorated with multicoloured feathers or chicken-dune and sometimes also with small eggs, easter eggs, in plastic, wood or chocolate.  
We are quite obsessed with spring in Sweden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.