Cirrocumulus

I'm definitely no expert on clouds, but I think these are cirrocumulus clouds, very high up in the atmosphere. Their appearance in the sky as we came out of Milk, having had lunch with RZ, highlights the fact that the days have been producing more weather than we can possibly consume over the last few days, with quite dramatic swings. It was still quite cold and windy as we walked down to Milk around 12 noon. When we came out 90 minutes later, it felt quite springlike. Now it's clouded over again, and is cold.

Anyway.... A day of swings and roundabouts. Or perhaps of massive swings backwards and forwards between bits of the portfolio. A meeting with someone we hope to see joining us soon, seeing some students about their dissertations, doing a full hour on the peloton, catching up with RZ, a meeting about student support, and then various bits of "dangerous women". I may peak on Monday. It seems likely I'll be on Woman's Hour talking about the Dangerous Women book. I am understandably excited. Today I did a live interview with BBC Radio London, and there are also various other live and recorded radio interviews set up. The publicists seem pretty effective (glad to see that as of today the DW book features in the twitter header). They also see Woman's Hour as the holy grail. This is the first time I've ever had occasion to work with a professional book publicist, and it's been quite eye-opening. Part of the irony is that (whisper it quietly) I actually think that the other book is the better book, is certainly a more aesthetic product, and in many ways is more original. But in comparison it got zero publicity, although Leuven University Press did include us in an advertisement in the LRB. So I've learned some bits about trade publishing through this.

Through this week, I haven't mentioned Ukraine, unlike many blippers. I find it almost too painful to contemplate. There are many different ways of supporting Ukraine right now, but donating to keep independent journalism going is one good option.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.