Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Bang Bang

This seems horribly appropriate, it's a 17th century (replica I think) cannon from the English civil war of the 17th century.
I'm in Newark overnight for a Cursillo meeting tomorrow and while walking the streets this afternoon I came across the museum, with this outside.
The news from the Ukraine is just grim - frightening and incomprehensible. People are being killed, lives ruined, buildings destroyed, and why? There is NO sensible answer.
Isobel's best friend at school has a Ukrainian mother - who has lived here all her life, I might add. They were talking about the attack on Kyiv and about Nadia's grandparents who are trapped there. Nadia and her family are obviously upset. Isobel has decided that she will help, and that together they would make a plan to save Ukraine and rescue the grandparents. The girls take their notebooks and pencils outside at breaktime every day to make plans to fix things - they are only 5 and can't actually write yet, but they have their notebooks, their friendship and see the need for peace.
My trip to Newark today down the east coast on an LNER train was smooth and through beautiful sunny countryside. I saw countless herons and lots of lambs. The train was frighteningly busy, even in 1st class. I was glad I had booked a single seat and I kept my mask on for most of the journey. It seemed as though the last two years hadn't happened.
Steps today 14110
Keep safe folks.


Here's this month's art quiz btw, I forgot to put it in earlier, 8 for me today. Too many dates!

https://nationalgalleries.typeform.com/to/KLi35Yt1?typeform-source=lm.facebook.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.