Dot Dot Dot A Visit to the Park Dot Dot Dot

The big storm the night before had left us with a couple of inches of heavy, sleety mess, and my husband and I spent an hour and a half shoveling out, plus a bit more here or there. I could have let that "count" as the exercise portion of the day, but I still wanted my walk, so off I went.

A part of my walk took me to a little local park called Autumn Meadow Park. Such a pretty name, isn't it? I was looking around with my camera, playing, really, playing at seeing things, when I noticed some dots. Then I went and stood behind the dots and took pictures, and this is one of the shots I came up with.

It is one of my great joys in life to try to really SEE things, and to find ways to LOOK at things differently. We take so much for granted in this world, when there is actually magic everywhere. Part of finding magic is knowing how to look for it; knowing HOW to LOOK, in general. (Blippers already know this!)

The outcome of this photo is a sort of pointillism through which to present my landscape. Pointillism usually is made up of lots of very small, very colorful dots. It's not charming or witty or colorful, so this wintry landscape is probably not what they intended. But hey, here I am.

I remember finding a similar view in Katz building, on campus, a few years back. In that photo (see the extra photo on this blip), the dots were gray, and the (mostly obscured) landscape behind them was colorful. In this case, the dots are a simple mechanism - a manipulation of negative space that allows us to see what's beyond in an orderly fashion. Here is my winter world: row after row of dots.

It is my custom to choose a soundtrack song for my blips, and I wanted something from Jakob Dylan's album Seeing Things, since that is really what this posting is all about. Given the horrifying news from the Ukraine on this and other recent days, here is an appropriate track: Evil Is Alive and Well. The first verse appears below.

It doesn't always have a shape
Almost never does it have a name
It maybe has a pitchfork maybe has a tail
But evil is alive and well
It might walk upright from out of the inferno
May be coming horseback through deep snow
It's ragged and fat, it's hungry as hell
Evil is alive and well

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.