Ice Abstracts: Window to the Stars / I See Fire

The temperature dropped overnight like it saw a state trooper, and there is fresh, amazing ice on my favorite pond. There are little spaces amid the new ice where there is no ice at all and reflections are available. They seemed like tiny windows to me, windows to the sky, where the amphibians lurking below could still watch the stars at night.

In other news, my husband keeps a bowl of water on the front porch for the neighbors' cat, LGK, who often visits us. The water froze and my husband, knowing how obsessed I can get about ice, brought the big chunk of new ice into the house: "I thought you might be able to do something with it," he said, and he placed the ice on a blue frisbee.

I feel like opening some of these more experimental, artistic-license type posts with, Just let me try to explain a minute! I don't always know what motivates me to do these things, except the unending desire to see WHAT WILL IT LOOK LIKE IF I DO THIS? And what about THIS? And THIS?

I tried photographing a yellow rubber duckie under the ice, a purple nail polish bottle, and simply shining light through the ice (via a headlamp, with the overhead lights off). In the extras is just one shot of the results. With the swirling golds and blues I was getting, I was dancing between a Van Gogh vibe and a Klimt vibe. Enjoy my first offering of weird frozen cat-water-bowl art!!!

I've got two ice abstract photos, so here are two songs. First, for the amphibians in my favorite vernal pond in the Scotia Barrens, beneath the beautiful new-frozen ice, peering up at the stars: Enya, with Paint the Sky with Stars. Second, for the flaming gold and blue tones one can ONLY get by photographing a small yellow duckie beneath frozen-cat-water on a blue frisbee, here's Ed Sheeran, with I See Fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.