Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Hobble End Sheep

On the way to the supermarket, I was drawn to the clouds and colours in the sky.  There is a lane that goes off the A34 down to a cottage and a farm and I'll often turn down it for a photo opportunity.

As I parked up at the entrance to a field these sheep started heading towards me,  I thought they might make for some foreground interest but the exposure times were in the seconds and so they were ghostly figures in the viewfinder.  WIth the sensor on the camera being so good using higher ISOs I just upped the setting to allow me to freeze their movement.

After that it was shopping, then home for some long awaited gardening.  I cut both lawns for the first time this year and generally had a good tidy up.  Turning over the soil under the bird feeders, which had become impacted by all of the birds and squirrels walking around, caused visits from robins and dunnocks.  I tried to entice them with mealworm and did get them to come quite close, but any chance of encouraging them into a hand would be a long term commitment.

The n it was the Rugby; France looked very impressive in their win over Scotland.  The England-Wales game was turgid in the first 40 minutes but came alive in a very entertaining second half.  That was in the main down to the efforts of the Welsh and they made a valiant effort to steal it at the death, but England just held on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.