Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Woodland Management

I was with L out on the Chase this morning.  While she was taking Meg back to the Chase for the first time in more than 6 months after she went lame, I was taking a walk in beautiful weather albeit with a very cold wind.  I'd been asked to try and remove some branches that were interfering with the tracks the riders use around the area in the image.  It proved quite difficult as in some cases the branches were still connected to trunks of trees felled over the last few months.

I had the small drone with me so put it up to get a clearer understanding of the felling that has taken place.  As you can see they have cut parralel tracks through the plantation.  I'm assuming this thinning out is to allow the remaining trees to grow.  I've seen in other areas of the chase wider tracts formed and new planting taking place but this doesn't appear to be the situation here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.