Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Donde Mueren los Sueños

“Where Dreams Die”

The Tubac Center of the Arts generally has four exhibits at a time. The artists participating in this show are from both sides of the border. The art rang so true to me and was exceptionally emotional. The blip, which was hung on the back wall of the exhibit, was placed there for maximum impact, I think.

The image of the border patrol agent hovering over Christ with a gun brought me to tears. My initial reaction was two-fold. The first, that man was made in His image and to murder a man is to murder a child of God. My other gut reaction was that Jesus died for us all, and would be willing to do so again.

You don’t have to be a believer but the artist was clearly making a religious reference.

The first extra was another that broke my heart. A migrant, dead in the desert, with a water bottle, which was clearly insufficient for his survival. These are things that are not uncommon to those of us who live near the border. The second extra is a set which also depict the exhibit theme of “Where Dreams Die.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.