A Treat Stop

We picked up Gary with his puppy Billie and walked in the woods at Shell Bay. It was the first time Billie had been in the woods and he loved it. His nose was to the ground the whole time. So many sniffs to check out.

We tried to get the two dogs to sit nicely beside the snowdrops for a photo, but Billie was so excited it was almost impossible. Once the treats came out their bottoms hit the deck, so I managed to grab a couple of shots. This was the best one.

It was beautiful in the woods. The sun was shining through the trees lighting up the bark and any new green growth. There were two buzzards overhead and I could hear small bird song amidst the trees. First time for ages. I could hear the gentle rush of the tree tops in the wind, while being totally sheltered from it down below. When we arrived the car park was spilling over with cars parked along the verges, yet we passed four people and four dogs.

I watched a documentary on Netflix last night called “Winter on Fire”, Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom. It was made in 2015 and covers the 93 days when a peaceful student demonstration became a violent revolution and full fledged civil rights movement. The Ukrainian people fought and died because they wanted to remain allied with Europe, when their leaders wanted to return the country to being part of Russia. A powerful, moving film showing thousands of people willing to die for their country, and to remain part of Europe and the West, retaining their democracy.
I’ve taken part in marches and demonstrations, but I had to ask myself if I would be prepared to demonstrate for 93 days, or die for my country!
After watching this I feel that if there’s any chance this Russian invasion can be pushed back the Ukrainian people will do it.

Completed Wordle, and Quordle, though it was close with only one guess left.

Thank you all for your lovely birthday wishes for Geordie, and your kind comments about this rotten head cold that I can’t seem to shift.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.