Still cooking and experimenting

My blurb cook book is two steps forward and one back at the moment. I’m struggling with the layout and fitting in the text, to keep it vaguely consistent, but as I started using their layout it keeps moving stuff down pages as I enter more on earlier pages. It’s frustrating and time-consuming as I have to gradually transfer stuff to my own layout without damage to what’s already done. This is supposed to be fun!

However the experimental cooking is fun. Tonight I made a kind of carrot and beetroot fritter with ginger and halloumi cheese. The dressing was lemon, ginger and garlic oil. We are stuffed.

The day got away from me as I also made some cakes and spent time finding recipes for Val who was wanting something to make for the golf club pooled lunch. (So old school the women make it). A complication was finding a recipe using stuff she already had. She decided to make the broccoli, red onion and feta pie but with cauliflower instead of broccoli. I did warn her substituting that it would make it very beige. It’s done now but I’ve had no feedback.

I’m keeping off Facebook. Not only is there rubbish about Ukraine coming from weirdos, but also everyone posts their boring Wordle results. Not boasts I’m sure. Maybe a friends and fellow Wordles WhatsApp group would be more appropriate - just a suggestion!

Oh yes, and I did listen to you on Woman’s Hour Jo. Well done. I expect they cut it short - could have done with more from you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.