It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Joe Glo and Maggie

I was shocked and stunned a few days ago when our founding father Joe blipped on his espresso machine detergent. Now he is clearly a discerning chap as he owns a rancilio silvia, the best domestic coffee machine out there that offers a degree of value for money. However, he doesn't use Joe Glo!

I had an early start and got the train to Guide Bridge, running the rest of the way to work, along the Ashton Canal. It was sunny was pretty cold and the light was amazing. Then, I dropped off my rucksack at work and then did another few km in Clayton Vale. It set me up well for the day.

Few of us could fail to notice the news today, with the death of Maggie being the headline story. She was obviously an important character who played a big role in developing my own views in my formative years.

I was a weird kid. I remember 1979 like it was yesterday. I remember Thatcher's tenure well. I was a kid who loved politics. I could look at a picture of every UK bird and name it.....but I could also do the same for The Cabinet. As I grew older, at secondary school....I stood out, not only because I was a rare fat kid but because I was a Thatcherite. This was very uncommon at James Gillespies in 1985. When people would sing "Maggie Maggie Maggie, Out...Out...Out" I would replace out with in, in in....albeit in my head.

My views were wrong....They were partially the result of being brought up in a pro-establishment but very working class household. We read the Daily Express, my dad and grandad were both in the navy, and the latter then worked in the Royal Household at Holyrood.....like the Queen I actually had an annual holiday at Balmoral. I rode the same ponies as royalty, walked in the same hills and went to Crathie Kirk on Sunday.

A quarter of a century later, my views couldn't be more different. I still believe in hard work and efficiency but rather for the collective good rather than for self. I'm no longer a patriot, believing that the word is only differentiated from xenophobia by semantics. I believe in community but understand that it is big business and supermarkets that have played a major role in destroying it.

I believe in justice but only where it is just, rather than when used to slap down protest and control society. The apathetic society we have today....The 'I'm alright jack' mentality is partially the result of the political tyranny of Thatcher.

"A government afraid of its citizens is a Democracy. Citizens afraid of government is tyranny!" - Thomas Jefferson

Is Thatcher wholly to blame for everything? Hell no. The opposition at the time ruled by egocentric class warriors, helped provide an environment in which Maggie would prosper. A class divide is just that.....them and us, a division.

Today saw the recall of Parliament to pay tribute to Thatcher. Yes she did do some good.....but let's not forget that even evil dictators do some good as they still require the support of large sections of society. We are paying for this recall, so both the leader of our country and his opposite number can pay tribute to this woman. a woman who united a nation through bigotry, violence and supression of her enemies. At the time I supported her.

Let's never forget that Thatcher split a nation....and that she managed to do so because she had huge support in her constituency party and from large sections of the general public. When attacking Thatcher, we must challenge those who support her and her legacy. That means our friends, colleagues, neighbours and acquaintances. This should be done without political rhetoric but with an understanding that all humans have the capacity for bigotry, distrust and evil. I am an anti-racist, supporter of gay rights inclusive sort or guy.....who still struggles to show similar understanding for the chavs in society. I am working on it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.