Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Like a kid in a sweet shop

Actually, this part is the sweet shop, but that's not what I meant.  This is Eataly, an amazing Italian place just outside Liverpool Street station.  I say 'place' because it's difficult to describe; it's got a cafe, a couple of restaurants, a bar, pasta bar, salad bar, and a huge supermarket selling just about every kind of Italian food imaginable.  I love Italian food and could have spent an absolute fortune but limited myself to some pasta, some cheese and some foccacia.  Oh, and did I mention canoli?

Another good day.  We didn't have anything planned and our train home was at 2.30pm so we decided to take a slow walk after breakfast to the station, about four miles.  A fascinating walk through Soho (I loved a sign I saw; "Do not piss in this doorway"), Lincolns Inn, Fleet Street, and past St Pauls Cathedral.  A happy hour browsing in Eataly and then the train home.  Our garden man has now gone so we just had enough light to look at the finished job and it is superb.  I'll blip it over the weekend.

I believe today people are blipping yellow and blue to support Ukraine; I've not managed it today but I think yesterday's blip will do to support the cause.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.