Flossmo

By Flossmo

Ochre PrintAble

I have spent another day in the studio screenprinting. Pinned up on the wall alongside where I work are two and three dimensional artworks made by members of Ochre PrintAbles - a group of artists with learning disabilities who make amazing art under the skilled guidance of Jule Mallett (http://www.julemallett.uk/about). The photograph is a print entitled Penguin.

It's nice to get away to the studio and make art and I enjoy seeing the PrintAbles in action, but I cannot empty my mind of the grim scenes in Ukraine that are now becoming ubiquitous across the media. One atrocity after another, after another. There is much bravery and kindness, too; but one does not cancel out the other. I feel a deep anxiety in the pit of my stomach; not for myself but for the innocent millions caught up in the carnage. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.