Respite

A brief break from the gloom of past days came when the sky broke for an hour or so as I travelled back from seeing Mum. With views like this, it's not a bad commute. Earlier I'd given a talk to my class about employability skills, and then had the pleasure of talking to one of them for about 20 minutes afterwards about how to improve her prospects in the area she's so keen to work in. Chatting with smart young people is one of the most rewarding features of my job, and I had another opportunity almost immediately when one of my personal tutees called in to discuss applying for PhDs. 

Back home, there was L, back from six months in Central America (see extra) with the news that within 24 hours of arriving in the UK a friend had asked her to play Queen Elizabeth in a semi-professional production of Shaw's "Dark Lady of the Sonnets"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.