a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Harriet and Harry

After a few very miserable dull wet days, it was a blessed relief to see some sunshine this morning.  Cathy was working so I packed a lunch and nipped down to the Somerset levels for a day's wildlife photography.  This is a female marsh harrier.  She's not in the least bit tame so I don't suppose she would take to being called Harriet, but its sort of appropriate some how.  I have more than 1,000(!) shots of the harriers and I'm still working my way through them to find the best ones, but this is certainly one of the better ones so I've chosen to blip her.  You probably need to go large to see this one properly.

Edit: I found a shot of Harriet's other half, Harry, which I also like so I've added him as an extra.

It was a delight to get outside and concentrate on something other than the dreadful news coming out of Ukraine.  Right back at the start of the invasion one of the UK protests picked up on by the TV included a little girl with her home made sign saying "Putin is a poo".  And with every day that passes you see more and more evidence to show that he really, really is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.