OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

At Yettna Geo

A beautiful day in Skail in the northwest of mainland Orkney. I debussed at the east end of Skail Loch and walked along the shore road. Lots of goldeneye, red-breasted mergansers, long-tailed ducks, tufted ducks, mallards, and pochards plus whooper and mute swans. About ten ravens about. I stopped in at the visitor centre of Skara Brae to say hello then on to the cliffs. About 250 guillemot are on the cliffs overlooking the geo and plenty of fulmars there too. Bird of the day though was a glaucous gull on the bay. I'd hoped to get an Iceland gull, another Nearctic 'white-winged gull, as I haven't seen one this winter/spring, but the glaucous was nice. It had prey and was being harassed by other gulls (extra). But I thought I'd go with a landscape or seascape, looking north from Row Head

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.