Tortworth Lake Walk

As far as lovely landscape shots go Tortworth lake is delightful, with a boathouse that matches the mansion on the hillside - now a five star country hotel and visible on the right of the extra. However, I was very taken with how this shot of the old wartime buildings came out on the iPhone!

My eldest got married at the hotel, and in my father of the bride speech I related how the building was a secret training base in the Second World War, one of the stone frigates known as HMS Cabbala. So secret was it that the daily raising of the ensign was carried out indoors - in what is now the reception hall - so that local folk would not be aware of what was going on.

The lake is open to the public on the first Sunday of each month between February and October, and has a very pleasant walk around its circumference. I met up with a few of my local photography group, but sadly I've now done something tedious to my left knee... bugrit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.