Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

TOUGH!

First of all, thank you to all who popped in yesterday with good wishes. Too kind. Roll on the next ten years!

Archie’s new walker came to take him out, and she was very a bit late, so he’d been up at the window watching the gate for rather longer than he has patience for. And so he gave her one of his crying, wailing, manic welcomes, much to her surpise. 

JR came back with her gym pal Chrissy, and they sat out in the sun with their coffees. I went off to the gym for my session. Jings! It is SO TOUGH. But oddly enough, I never cheat, I keep going so that my target times are met. I don’t really need to half kill myself, do I? But 2 minutes on the crosstrainer is just soooo painful. Will it get easier? I hae ma doots.

Then in the afternoon, JR was going in to Boots the chemist to find out about travel PCR tests. We have to have one a couple of days before our up-and-coming cruise. And yes, there is a walk-in testing centre in town, so we’ll book that for just before the holiday. There was a huge protest against the war in Ukraine.

Archie and I accompanied her down to the Meadows, to check out the crocuses, but as he’s not allowed in Boots, he had to come back home with me. I was too tired to go any further. (9,307 steps! *PHEW*)

We’re very much enjoying Stanley Tucci’s foodie tour of Italy. And not just because he looks exactly like my heart surgeon, but also because we’d very much like to do a foodie tour of Italy too… Although tonight’s programme was all about offal… No thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.