Amble looking to Warkworth

Today we had a table booked in a pub in the seaside village of Amble, for Sunday carvery. It had taken a bit of searching and phone calls yesterday, to find anywhere with space available. In the end, I plumped for it, because the cost was reasonable and I fancied visiting Amble anyway. We listened to The Archers first thing, taking the morning slowly.

The meal was good and we spent about an hour in the pub, before wandering down to the harbour, which was very busy with a Sunday Market, and various wooden pods used as small shops. It seemed very popular. The river Coquet begins at this point, and the photo is looking up from the harbour and mouth of the river, towards Warkworth, and Warkworth Castle. A bit blurred as I tried to zoom in, but a beautiful view. This stretch of coastline is littered with castles in various stages of decline - I think I read the most castles per mile of coast than anywhere else in the country.

We drove back via Warkworth and the coast road. There are lots more nice villages and Warkworth looks like it is one worth stopping.

We then spent the afternoon relaxing in front of the TV, although I did fall asleep. Have just enjoyed the final of the great pottery throwdown. I've really enjoyed the series...no spoilers if you haven't seen the final but plant to later. Now The Ipcress File if I can stay awake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.