A new friend

Another Saturday almost done and dusted. It doesn’t feel like I’ve done much, but also I don’t think I’ve sat down, so I must have done something! We did start the day in Cromer with coffee and cake on a bench outside the church. Daniel came down and we caught up for 10 minutes. Then a couple of shops for essentials, plus the post office, and we were home by 11.30.

That’s when the big job of the day began for Jon and Henry. The boiler. And to cut a long story short, after a tense day they got it running at 6pm. The house is now starting to heat up, and we know it will take a while as it had got very cold right down to the bones of the house. So the blanket stays on my lap for now!

I spent some of the afternoon outside after housework duties were done. I wanted to scoop a bit of the sludge from the pond, when I found this little fella, and went and got Henry who took these photos. We think he is a common newt. I’m so pleased he has decided to live in my pond. I remember having spawn last year that we thought might have been newt, so now I know we did. He has a lovely orange speckled tummy. I caught 2, or possible the same one twice. I am not going to scoop any more sludge out for now. Just the leaves from the top.

I planted some seeds. Rocket, brussels, cabbage, cauliflower and courgette. It was very cold in my shed, so I didn’t do any others, or more planning, but I made a rough note. The garden needs digging over, which I may do tomorrow. The rest of the afternoon I cleaned and tidied the office. Not how I wanted to spend it, but definitely sewing tomorrow.

We had fish and chips for tea, celebrating the arrival of heat. Now we are sitting down to watch a film together....with more fattening nibbles and treats!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.