Next Steps

More work on the painting I’m making of a cheetah and a leopard. First I worked on the drawing with black Posca. I moved the leopard’s eyes down a bit. To do that I used white Posca to cover the existing eyes and then redrew them. Then I sprayed the piece with Dylusions water based ink. I learned that water based ink doesn’t work over Posca which is acrylic and therefore basically plastic. That’s why there are lighter areas around the eyes and nose where I made corrections. So now I know. That’s okay with me. I have lots more to do yet on this painting.

In the afternoon Shelly and I went to the Bellingham Symphony’s first full length concert since COVID. We heard Frédéric Chopin’s Piano Concerto No. 1 and Johannes Brahms’ Symphony No. 4. Inna Falliks was the piano soloist. She was fantastic. She came out in a full length dress with black top and blue skirt. She wore a yellow necklace and used a yellow handkerchief to take care of moisture. I mention this not because I usually care what soloists wear. Ms Falliks is Ukrainian and after she played she told us her story. She left Ukraine 30 years ago as a child. Her family moved to Chicago and a family took them in. They became deep friends. The family that hosted them happened to move to our city and Inna and her family were able to spend time with them for the first time in ten years. She talked of the emotions they were all feeling especially now given the situation in Ukraine. It was a very special concert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.