Sweets to the Sweet

Last night was very quiet at work, and there were three of us working. Watan was meant to be doing cleaning and he did  some but not enough apparently...  I know my shifts for the next two weeks! This week I have just two nights - Friday and Saturday; next week I have four - Monday, Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday!

I followed the score of the Manchester Derby in sick fascination. 4-1 to City! This is not good enough!

I went over to see my Dad today. It wasn't even Question Time but he was complaining about the government, and how delighted Boris must be that everyone now seems to have forgotten Partygate, and that the hoops Ukrainian refugees have to jump through to come here are ridiculous in the light of how few checks were made on whether donations from Oligarchs were in any way related to crime... We talked about dogs and cats and sport too!

i  took a few shots on my phone as I walked home from the station. This is the traditional sweet shop, Sharpes on the newly gentrified Sincil Street. I went to junior school with the owner though he was in the year above me. He and his wife had a fruit stall on the market. When the market moved indoors he switched to selling sweets, and with the latest wave of changes to the market they went into this shop. It used to be just cheap goodies, but with the street's "face-lift" they have changed the ethos to Traditional to fit in with the upmarket vibe! they still sell basically the same sort of stuff a bit dearer!

 Next it will be Tesco shopping. The fun don't stop!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.