Wide Open Spaces

I was rudely woken this morning. By a dog, barging into the bedroom and vigorously telling me it was 10.00 o'clock and it was a nice day and how about walkies you idle git.

As I say, a rude awakening. But unsurprising considering Mrs I and myself had a late night session in the man cave gin cabin. The stove was lit, the gin was copious and the conversation was lively. My word that woman can talk. 

But it was nice to chat about the day and put the world to rights. And when it got to the wee hours we had a wee, exchanged telephone numbers and retired to bed. We sleep in separate rooms, I snore apparently and we both sleep really well. And it's nice to meet up for breakfast and compare notes.

I took my lovely wife and Hollie dog to a new place today and it was marvellous. Compton Park and Smestow Valley, two miles from the city centre and miles from anywhere. Vast acres of hilly grassland, wooded trails, railway walks and near to the canal. And the sun shone whilst we chatted amiably to other dog walkers. There is a good history around here and lots of wildlife including otter, muntjac deer and a variety of birds including buzzard, kestrel, songbirds and parakeets who roost nearby.

We then went home to drink tea on the patio and enjoy the last of the afternoon sunshine. 

A very nice day indeed. And I must mention the guy we met with two dogs called Rolex and Timex. We asked about this and he explained they are not pets. 

They are watchdogs... 

Time to kick back and enjoy today's episode of Marcus Wareing, the TV chef who is running a fantastic smallholding in the South of England and now growing all his own produce. A charming and totally pleasing little series which is just great. 

Bye for now, thanks for looking in... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.