Bees at Bodnant

I really did want to blip a mono shot today, but I’m afraid the vibrancy of Bodnant in this afternoon’s bright sunlight made me feel I had to go with technicolour. 

The hellebores and witch hazel are still in evidence, joined now by crocus carpets and camellias - mostly blissfully unblemished after a few dry days. The magnolias are opening too, breaking free of their furry winter overcoats, and beautiful azaleas bloom already. I pass the fields of daffodils, buds tinged yellow, soon to burst open. Bodnant is beautiful at any time of year, but spring and early summer probably see the gardens at their best. 

It’s only on the upper terraces that I actually see bees - confirmation that winter now is over, despite the chilly wind that blows today. Soon, I’ll probably be apologising for yet another bee blip, but right now they really are a novelty so this has to be my main, though I can’t resist some other shots in extras. 

All this beauty, peace and colour; it’s hard to believe what’s happening elsewhere in Europe ….. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.