Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Mommy

That's the word that first comes to mind when I look at this picture.  My father took it with his Olympus OM-1 (of which he was so proud) and developed it in his darkroom (the extra bathroom).  I was about 16 at the time, so Mom would have been in her late 50s.  I took the picture out of the frame and photographed it today for International Women's Day and MonoMonday.  Many thanks to KangaZu for hosting this month!

I remember that day because Dad wanted to practice taking portraits and we all had to model.  Now, many years later, I still have the three portraits taken that day - my grandmother, myself and this one.  I even have the camera, but I have no idea how to use it!  I thought of Dad as I was cleaning up the image to remove a pinkish cast it had taken on.  He was also very much into computers, but he didn't live long enough to see digital cameras.  I wish he could have seen how far photography and computers have advanced....but I did have the feeling he was here with me, so maybe he has. :-)

I am grateful for my wonderful parents and the love I still feel when I think of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.