Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Machair Beach

Today’s blip is taken of the old ship wreck on The Machair Beach near to Kilchoman.

We had lunch at the whisky distillery. Lovely food.

In the morning we battled high winds to reach the relative calm of Sanaigmore Bay. It was a strenuous walk over boggy moorland. I thought it was a good knee test. Aggie and Arth both did well and were pain free.

After lunch Lesley gave me a lift to Kilchoman church to find the grave of Rosemary’s mother. The ashes are interred in the grave of two of her family's close friends. Rosemary is an embroidery friend of Mum's. Bit complicated.

The gravedigger was on hand and helped us find the grave. I had taken flowers but the wind was so strong that they could not stay in the vase for more than a second. Lesley had to hold them.

At least I found the place for Rosemary who can no longer travel to Islay.

I brought the battered flowers back to my hotel room where they seem to have triggered hay fever.

You can’t see in the blip, but the sand whipped along the beach, entering every camera bag. I’m glad I brought a 1inch brush with me. It came into its own. When I had a biscuit I discovered the sand between my teeth…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.