Gray's Cemetery: The Riderless Horse

After a trip to town on errands, we stopped for a few minutes at Gray's Cemetery so I could walk around and take pictures. Things are looking springy - hello, mud season! - and the roads into the cemetery are open, which is a thing you can't count on this time of year, so we made the best of it. (And with snow expected, that situation may not last. So get while the gettin' is good, as my dad might say.)

As I walk around the cemetery in the mud, a thing that I do is try to set things to rights. A flag out of order or fallen down? We straighten it! A riderless horse on the ground? We place it back on the grave stone it belongs with. Which is what happened in this case. I picked it up. I set it right. So here is a photo of the riderless horse in the cemetery, reunited with its grave marker.

Which raised the very good question for me:

Who's gonna ride your wild horses?

The soundtrack song is U2, with Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses. Here is also a very nice cover by Garbage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.