An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Step back in time...

Quick blip tonight as still have my Tesco order to complete and determined to be in my bed at a decent time!

Had a dental appointment this morning.  There was such a long wait to be seen after making the appointment that the original problem had resolved itself but I am worried about the tooth that was affected so decided to keep the appointment.  This of course necessitated a 90 minute round trip as I am still with the same dental surgery I've been with all my life (my original dentist has retired :-)) So, a trip back to my old life :-)

My dentist is currently on maternity leave so was seen by a dentist who is new to me and has the most uncomfortable dentist chair ever!  When she tilted me back it felt as though there was no head rest and I thought I was going to slide right off the back of the chair!  Agony on my back! Thankfully, despite my gum being a bit tender, she confirmed my tooth and filling are fine, so no work required.  Yay! 

I was back out the dentist at midday and as we were in the town where my best friend lives (and she's currently working from home) I phoned on the off chance she was free to grab some lunch at a local hotel.  She was!  :-)  

We picked her up and headed to the pub where we enjoyed a delicious two course lunch.  OMG the portions were huge!  The three of us love our food but none of us could finish our starter or main course!  Enjoyed it though.  Those wee impromptu get togethers are just so lovely.  Impossible during lockdowns.  Will never take them for granted again.

Dropped Agnes off and drove through the centre of town to let me get a photo of the Edwardian Bandstand, built 1910, to blip.  I've blipped it a few times and it always seems to coincide with a visit to the dentist!  lol.  Since it was such a grey day I decided to faff a little to try to reflect the age of the bandstand but all I seem to have managed to do is create a lot of noise (ha!  no change there!  :-))

Home to find some picture frames had arrived but they're the wrong size for the paintings I want to put in them.  And I measured carefully!  I just can't be trusted when it comes to numbers!  Oh well, I'll just have to paint new pictures to fit them.

And now I really must get my Tesco order completed.  Oh how I hate coming up with a week's worth of dinner ideas on a Wednesday night!!

Ah! Just received a message from an old school pal G, who I haven't seen since our school reunion in 2010 (although we are Facebook pals).  We were boyfriend and girlfriend for two weeks in 1980 when we were 13.  You know the kind of date...come and watch me play football and I'll buy you a bag of chips afterwards kind of thing :-))  Just to clarify, it was him playing football not me! :D   He is over in Tenerife at the moment visiting another lad from our school days and he knew I had a class photo of us all taken in our first year of secondary school, circa 1978, and asked could I email it to him so he could show our classmate.  Thankfully I have it on my laptop and was able to send it straight away.  I've included it in the extras for your amusement!  Can you guess which one I am?  I will give you a clue.  I had recently cut my own hair into a fringe to be like Olivia Newton John in Grease!  It started out the right length but I kept trimming and trimming till.....well you know what happens when one cuts one's own hair.  Difficult to know when to stop!  lol


G & his wife travel north on holiday in their camper van regularly and so almost pass our door so they're going to pop in next time they head up to Loch Morlich.  He asked if David would would be ok with that, given our "past" but I was able to reassure him that David would not be suggesting pistols at dawn.  I hope.....


Hahahahahahahaha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.