An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Five minute flowers...

Today has gone by in a blur and I have virtually nothing to show for it apart from some painting and a roast beef dinner.  

Roast beef?  On a Thursday?  I thought it was Sunday!  Hahahaha...no, I bought it to make last Sunday but for some reason we had something else and it had to be used by tomorrow so into the oven it went.  David was very pleasantly surprised to return from golf to the smell of Sunday dinner.  Although his smile didn't last for long as he was in his son's bad books.

Alan was supposed to be swimming at 5pm.  He was in his swimming gear at 5 on the dot but there was no sign of David.  When D plays golf on a swimming day he's normally back with 10 minutes to spare, so I assumed he'd been held up in traffic (although normally he'd let me know)  Anyway I phoned his mobile to discover he had completely forgotten there was a swim today, and was just leaving Leven!  

I broke the bad news to Alan.  He was not happy.  I asked him if he wanted me to give his dad a row when he got home and he said no.  I asked him if he would give his dad a row and he said yes, and he did!  Hahahahaha...David got back and went to Alan's sitting room to say sorry and Alan let him have it.  Of course his CP means he can't actually talk but he can certainly shout in gobbledygook and boy, oh boy, I am certain there were a few cuss words in there!  lol  They were all friends again once Alan got that off his chest!  :-)

We got sad news that a friend's mum has passed away.  It wasn't unexpected and given her months of ill health, it's actually a blessing.  My time in the studio this afternoon was spent on two small paintings of snowdrops that I will use to make sympathy cards for our friend and his sister.  I also got the loose sketch for done for a watercolour painting that's a gift for a blip pal.  

And in between that, whilst waiting for watercolour washes to dry, I painted this tiny little line and wash tulip sketch (inspiration taken from this blip) as part of my five minute painting challenge.  It's only about 3 inches high so five minutes was plenty time.  

I am trying to get into the habit of doing a five minute painting every day, as well as a daily entry in my sketch book.  No sketch book entry today.  Must try harder.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.