The Kelpies

After a lovely Scottish breakfast (though lacking Lorne sausage) we checked out of the hotel and drove to Falkirk to see the Kelpies. I'd never seen them before but was astounded at their size, The taller one on the right is over 30m high. 

Spent a good hour or more walking round them, looking at different angles. The main pic, which is a view of both the Kelpies, was taken as a 30 second exposure with a big stopper to isolate them from the soft, moving clouds. 

With the two extras, I tried to look for different, and interesting angles; I particularly liked the second extra, centred on the muzzles. 

I'd seen photos of these set against blue skies, but the specular reflections of the sunlight on the stainless steel of the heads I thought distracting, so I was pleased to have overcast conditions. My next objective will be to visit them in the evening when they are illuminated. 

We then popped over to the Falkirk Wheel and saew it in action, before driving home via Moffat, where we managed to pick up some Lorne Sausage (Having had a fab Lorne sausage bap for lunch).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.