A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Peeking

An inexplicable poor night’s sleep meant I opted not to get up when my alarm went off at 6.15am as I felt I had just gone to sleep!

But after a couple of hours more sleep I made the most of another fine morning to walk around the St Ives Estate on my own.  Not the same route as the ladies take early doors but along the low path and then back towards Coppice Pond and a treat break at the Ivy Kitchen. Not open when the early ladies pass and, aside from many takeaway coffees drunk either in the picnic area across the road or in the seating area outside when restrictions we’re eased, probably the first time I’ve sat inside in over 2 years.

Chris was busy doing his first Luncheon Club for two years too ( apart from a Christmas lunch) so facing lunch on my own I had a bacon sandwich to accompany my latte before continuing on home.

Walking back up our close I stopped to see if I could here the frogs in Airedaleknitter’s pond. I was beginning to think I had been mistaken when I heard them a week or two ago but no they were definitely there. I hadn’t asked permission to go in and if you do the pebbles around the pond immediately alert them to your presence so they disappear under the water. 
So I stuck my camera through the foliage over the wall and zoomed in to get a couple of shots. This chap looks huge and thought he was worthy of a spring blip.

When Chris gets home we’ll head off to Ilkley as we’re going to the cinema again this time to see The Duke which I think has been filmed locally. Jim Broadbent and Helen Mirren head the cast so I’m hopeful it will fulfil its promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.