Dendrobium nobile

An EB (emergency blip) after a busy day out in Aberystwyth.   After a bright and sunny start a sudden change in the weather nearly put an end to our plans.   We set off under lowering skies and heavy drizzle .... not conducive to an afternoon bike ride that Jamie had planned with Tilda.   I was still hopeful that brighter weather might follow when the band of wet passed through.  As if to order, things brightened up as we arrived in Aber and after a couple of hours out on their bikes, Tilda and Jamie returned under blue skies.

I used the time to shop.   I don't possess the shopping gene but my need for new shoes had passed the extremely urgent stage!    I think I struck lucky at Clarks, a pair of stout but smart boots, still expensive at half price, I'm hoping that  they will last a lot longer than the last pair which I wore through the soles in just a few weeks!   I also found King Edward seed potatoes and some decent onion sets for growing on the allotment.   Jamie and I added several bags of other things from our shopping lists so it was a successful trip all round.

I'm off to Birmingham again tomorrow.   With only limited support available at present, Ruth's struggled to cope in her new flat.  She'll be back here for a week or so to re-charge her batteries and we think the transition to independence in the flat will be at a slower pace for a while, at least until more support can be arranged.

This lovely orchid was a gift to my late mother-in-law, Una, soon after she went into a home in 2019.   Once the flowers waned she wanted it to have a new home.   These are the first flowers since and they opened almost to the day on the anniversary of her passing at the start of this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.