Underground

Darker underground
I found
blackness of blocked cave
when the last candle's blown out

Even further deeper darker underground
I found
all the shadows I have ever feared
all the silences
all the whispers
and the cold smell of loneliness

Two middle verses from the performance poem `Underground' that Ann created when working with Stannington Infant School.  It moves towards an enthusiastic and probably loud ending, so I'm sure the children enjoyed performing it and didn't get too hung up about the dark.  I'll add it into extras later.


I revisited the memorial site late afternoon as I wanted to capture the feeling of darkness.  I had to remove a set of cuddly toys and other items left by children first.  I've replaced them now but I guess they are in a slightly different place.

I finally got myself to the post office to get my passport renewed.  In a few weeks time I'll be able to travel again - if I want to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.