FLOWER FRIDAY

I needed to go and do some shopping this morning and was happy to go on my own, but then Mr. HCB suggested he came and we went for a coffee first, so off we went.  He was going to go out and work in the garden, having rested his knee for a couple of days, but then decided that it was rather cold and it started raining, so that made up his mind.

We went for our coffee at Hall & Woodhouse, then I walked over to Waitrose, across the bridge spanning the canal, whilst Mr. HCB drove the car round.  I spotted these beautiful little Snakeshead Fritillary flowers in the gardening section so stopped to take a few shots.   

The shopping finished, back home and with it all put away, we had another coffee then I had a play with one of the shots.  You know by now how much I love my apps, so first of all, I used PhotoRoom, to darken the background and make the flowers stand out, then Carbon to make the border and frame around it and must admit, was quite pleased with the result.

I know it looks kind of sombre, in one way, which fits the mood in the world today, but there is some light on the flowers, which speaks to me of hope, which we desperately  need to cling onto.  I listened to a podcast this morning about how things are going in Ukraine, from a journalist’s point of view and although it was hard to listen to, I believe we need to hear and see what is going on in Ukraine, and not just turn away, because of course, we will all be impacted by this war in some way, wherever we live in the world.

Hope you all have a good weekend and that the weather is kind to you. 

“And once the storm is over, 
     you won’t remember 
          how you made it through, 
               how you managed to survive. 
You won’t even be sure 
     whether the storm is really over, 
          but one thing is certain -  
when you come out of the storm, 
     you won’t be the same person who walked in. 
          That’s what this storm’s all about.”
Haruki Murakami 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.