THE EYES HAVE IT!

I’m later posting my Blip today because I wanted to take a photograph of me with my Blip friend, Mindful_Life, as I haven’t seen her for sometime.  It’s not the best photograph I have ever taken, in fact, some of the shots were quite blurry - but I’m not sure why.  Anyway, we had a great catch-up and this was the best selfie.

I have been to our lovely Opticians, Leightons, this afternoon and was hoping that I would be told that  my cataracts are ready to be operated on - but sadly they are not bad enough!  :-(  I have been finding since getting back into reading for the last few weeks, that particularly my left eye has felt as if the vision is quite blurry.  However, I was told that there are certain criteria within the NHS that need to be met for cataract removal, and mine don’t come within that, so I will have to wait a while longer and I must admit that I was disappointed. 

However, it’s not the end of the world and I will just carry on;  I was told that I could pay for them to be removed privately, but that needs some thought as it could cost about £5,000 for both eyes.  Mr. HCB has just been notified of a HUGE pension rise of 25p per week, with effect from his BIG birthday in mid April and he says he would willingly donate that, but it would take rather a long time to make up that amount so I will wait patiently.

One good thing is that there is no macular degeneration in my eyes, so I am grateful for that and David, who tested my eyes, has a delightful sense of humour, so it was a pleasant afternoon, even if it didn’t turn out quite how I wanted it to.  I can still see and we are fortunate to have a warm and cosy home with enough food to eat and water to drink, so we are grateful, especially when we think of all those in Ukraine who are struggling today - so along with millions of others in the world,  we are praying for a swift end to the violence and bloodshed.

“When the heart is down 
     and the soul is heavy, 
          the eyes can only speak 
               the language of tears”  
Ikechukwu Izuakor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.