10 years ago - 11 March 2012

On 11 March 2012 I was in the city of Grenada in Nicaragua having just completed a charity bike ride in Central America. Grenada was a really interesting city very colourful and lots of interesting buildings.
We started in Panama then cycled through parts of Costa Rica and finished in Nicaragua. It was an amazing experience, hard work and fairly basic accommodation but great to see the area we passed through. Lots of lovely plants and other wild life including sloths!
 It was just a group of women who had all raised money for the Genesis Research  Trust which had been set up by Professor Lord Winston. ( Research into fertility etc) I had done a couple of other overseas charity rides but this was the first for this charity, and I subsequently did two more for this charity. 
I am still in touch with some of the ladies I met on this ride and so tomorrow about six of us are having a little reunion lunch in Central London which will be nice.
Fern Britten was a patron of the charity and was on this bike ride. She cycled alongside us and joined in all the time, her only, concession was a room of her own while the rest of us shared.

The blip shows the DVD and a medal which we were given after the ride. I watched it this week , lots of good memories and it really does not seem like 10 years ago. 

In 2013 we did a ride from Tallin to St Petersburg…..I don’t think many people will be visiting st Petersburg in the near future so I’m glad I did go back then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.