Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Sherlock's back

This engine had been on the North Norfolk Railway for a while but one day early last year as I was driving to the supermarket it went past me on the back of a low loader.  It's been used elsewhere for a few months but today it arrived back in Sheringham for the summer season and hopefully, a while longer.  Although I'm a steam fan I really like this engine; it was the last of its type to be built in 1968 and worked extensively on London Underground tracks which is why it has been given this Metropolitan Line livery even though it never carried it in its working life.  All engines used to carry a 'shed code'; something like 52A or 26C to denote where they were based.  In recognition of its London life it has been named 'Sherlock Holmes' and given the fictitious shed code '221B' which is all the more relevant to me as I spent part of my life working in a building on the site of 221B Baker Street, London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.