River of Flowers

By doffy

Friday: Perennial Kale

A day of showers and hardly any wind, thank goodness.
Went outdoors a few times, some of the kale plants are making flower shoots, I picked a handful to add to tonight’s meal.
Today’s blip is of Jersey Walking Stick kale which is one of my favourite garden plants, especially at this time of the year.
The first mention of Jersey Walking Stick Kale in this journal was in 2013 when I first started growing it, this particular plant has been providing me with leaves and shoots for at least 5 years.
I also grow Wild Sea Cabbage, which is a form of kale - it's very hardy and isn't affected by our unpredictable weather here. I have about a dozen new plants from cuttings, some as a result of storm damage - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2942528177437675000
Cavollo nero (Italian black kale) behaves like a perennial in my garden too - I have a few plants in pots which are in their 3rd year of growth.
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3534047
Apart from it's usefuness as a trouble-free vegetable this kale has flowers very early in the year and which is perfect for the over wintering pollinators. I've added a close-up of the flowers in today's extra ...
MrD had a damp day of deliveries but managed to finish by late afternoon, he’s watching the rugby now …
Wishing everyone a happy and relaxing weekend xxxx xxx xx
Stay safe & healthy & happy everyone :-)
Nos da pawb / goodnight all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.